Arlington schools honor Board members Jan. 27

ARLINGTON — January has been proclaimed as "School Board Recognition Month" by Washington state Gov. Jay Inslee.

For the past 19 years, Washington public school districts and their communities have acknowledged the dedication, commitment and hard work of their school board members each January.

School board directors volunteer hundreds of hours each year to promote student achievement, safe and caring environments, good stewardship and continuous improvement.

The Arlington School District's current directors are Board President Ursula Ghirardo, Vice President Kay Duskin, Legislative Representative Dr. Jeff Huleatt, Board members Jim Weiss and Bob McClure, and student advisors Olivia Curnett and Connor Ghirardo.

With the exception of the student advisors, school board seats are elected positions, and members are responsible for governance responsibilities in vision, structure, accountability and advocacy.

They oversee policies in curriculum, personnel, instruction, community relations and management support.

Board meetings are generally held on the second and fourth Mondays of each month at 6 p.m., and are open to the public.

The Arlington School Board will be recognized at the Jan. 27 meeting.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 22
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.