Arlington Times


Arlington schools honor Board members Jan. 27

January 17, 2014 · 1:14 AM

ARLINGTON — January has been proclaimed as "School Board Recognition Month" by Washington state Gov. Jay Inslee.

For the past 19 years, Washington public school districts and their communities have acknowledged the dedication, commitment and hard work of their school board members each January.

School board directors volunteer hundreds of hours each year to promote student achievement, safe and caring environments, good stewardship and continuous improvement.

The Arlington School District's current directors are Board President Ursula Ghirardo, Vice President Kay Duskin, Legislative Representative Dr. Jeff Huleatt, Board members Jim Weiss and Bob McClure, and student advisors Olivia Curnett and Connor Ghirardo.

With the exception of the student advisors, school board seats are elected positions, and members are responsible for governance responsibilities in vision, structure, accountability and advocacy.

They oversee policies in curriculum, personnel, instruction, community relations and management support.

Board meetings are generally held on the second and fourth Mondays of each month at 6 p.m., and are open to the public.

The Arlington School Board will be recognized at the Jan. 27 meeting.

Commenting Rules

© Sound Publishing, Inc.
All rights reserved.
Our Titles | Work With Us