Marysville Mayor Nehring re-elected to Community Transit Board

SNOHOMISH COUNTY – There will be a lot of familiar faces on the Community Transit Board of Directors the next two years as all eight board members eligible to remain on the board were re-elected, including Marysville Mayor Jon Nehring.

The newcomer is Edmonds Mayor Dave Earling. He was elected to represent large cities, but this isn't his first time on the board. Earling served on the board for 12 years in the 1990s and early 2000s, when he was an Edmonds City Council member.

Members who were re-elected at Community Transit's Board selection meeting Jan. 26 include Marysville Mayor Nehring, Mill Creek Mayor Mike Todd, Mountlake Terrace Mayor Jerry Smith, Mukilteo Mayor Joe Marine, Stanwood Mayor Dianne White and Sultan Council Member Steven Slawson.

Earlier, the Snohomish County Council reappointed Council members Dave Gossett and Dave Somers as its representatives. Lance Norton serves as the board's labor representative.

The new board will elect officers at its first meeting, on Thursday, Feb. 2.

Three new board alternates were chosen as well. Arlington Council member Debora Nelson, Lake Stevens Council member Kim Daughtry and Lynnwood Council member Sid Roberts will serve in those positions, along with Snohomish Council member Tom Hamilton. Snohomish County Council member Stephanie Wright was named the County Council's alternate.

The Community Transit board is chosen every two years. The County Council names its two members and an alternate, and at a special meeting representatives of Community Transit's member cities gather to select their board members and alternates. The board is comprised of two representatives from the Snohomish County Council; two representatives from large cities, with more than 30,000 residents; three representatives from medium-sized cities, with 10,000 to 30,000 residents; and two from small cities, with fewer than 10,000 residents.

Earling and Nehring represent the large cities and Roberts is the alternate. Marine, Smith and Todd represent the medium cities, with Daughtry and Nelson as alternates. Slawson and White represent the small cities and Hamilton is the alternate.

Community Transit is responsible for providing transportation options for Snohomish County residents, including bus and paratransit service, vanpool and ridesharing options. Call Community Transit at 425-353-7433 or 800-562-1375 for bus information, or 888-814-1300 for carpool or vanpool information, or go to You can also read Community Transit's blog at, visit its Facebook page or watch its videos. Support local businesses and Community Transit when you Buy Local for Transit; read more at

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 22
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.