Larsen informs local farmers they're eligible for federal disaster support

SNOHOMISH COUNTY — U.S. Rep. Rick Larsen of Arlington informed farmers in the Snohomish, Skagit, Whatcom, San Juan and Island counties on Monday, Jan. 30, that they're eligible to apply for federal disaster support.

Larsen, who represents the state's 2nd Congressional District in Washington, D.C., announced that these counties are among the 15 in Washington state that have been designated by the U.S. Department of Agriculture as primary natural disaster areas due to agriculture losses caused by excessive rain, flooding, below normal temperatures, high winds, frosts and freezes in 2011.

"Farmers who were hit with production losses because of severe weather last year should contact their local Farm Service Agency offices to report their losses and file for support they are eligible for," Larsen said. "Farmers who need guidance or assistance can also contact my office in Everett at 425-252-3188."

Farm operators in these counties who have suffered production losses due to the severe weather in 2011 are eligible to apply for Farm Service Agency emergency loans and the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Payments Program.

To learn more or to file claims, farm operators in the following counties can contact the Farm Service Agency offices listed below.

• Snohomish County:

• Skagit, Island and San Juan counties:

• Whatcom County:

For more information on the Farm Service Agency loan program, log onto

For more information on the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Payments Program, log onto

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 22
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.