Today is final chance to turn in primary election ballot

Today, Aug. 5, is the last day for voters to turn in their primary election ballots.

Even though it is an off-year election some important races are being decided. The top two vote-getters advance to the general election in November, no matter which party they belong to.

Key races in the primary for Marysville and Arlington voters are: Legislative District 10, Position 2; Congressional District 2; county executive; and Public Utility District 1.

The other races have two or fewer candidates so they automatically advance to the general election.

Two races have no challengers so it is likely Mark Roe again will be prosecutor and Dan Kristiansen a state representative.

The ballot:

Congressional District 2: Rick Larsen - D; B.J. Buillot - R; and Mike Lapointe - I.

Legislative District 10, Position 1: Norma Smith - R; Michael Scott - L.

Position 2:Dave Hayes - R; Brien Lillquist - R; Nick Petrish -D, David Sponheim - D.

District 38 senator: John McCoy - D, Craig French - R.

State rep. position 1: June Robinson - D, Jesse Anderson - R

Position 2: Elijah Olson - L, Mike Sells - D

District 39: Dan Kristiansen - R

State rep. position 2: Charles Jensen - D, Elizabeth Scott - R.

District 44 senator: Steve Hobbs - D, Jim Kellett - R

State rep. position 1: Hans Dunshee - D, Rob Toyer - R

Position 2: Mark Harmsworth - R, Mike Wilson - D

County executive: James Robert Deal - D, John Lovick - D, Carolyn Eslick - R

Prosecutor: Mark Roe - D

PUD 1: Matt Hartman, Dave Aldrich, Bruce King.



We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 22
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.