CT board has five new members

LYNNWOOD Mayor Margaret Larson was elected recently to the Community Transit Board of Directors and staredt her position Feb. 7.
She is one of five new members on the board. They were elected when representatives of the cities that make up the Public Transportation Benefit Area, which runs Community Transit, met to elect board members for 2008-2009.
Along with Larson, Edmonds City Councilmember Deanna Dawson, Gold Bar Mayor Crystal Hill and Mukilteo Mayor Joe Marine were elected to join the nine-member board, along with Snohomish County Councilmember Dave Somers, who was appointed by the County Council.
Board members re-elected include Mountlake Terrace City Councilmember Michelle Angrick, Brier City Councilmember Carlton Gipson and Marysville Mayor Dennis Kendall. Snohomish County Councilmember Dave Gossett was reappointed by his council.
At the new boards first meeting the members will elect a board chair, vice chair and secretary to lead the board. Board members also will subsequently receive committee assignments from the new chair. The board regularly meets the first Thursday of each month, with four workshops scheduled throughout the year.
The mayor of Marysville, Kendall is acting board chair.
There are a lot of new board members and there will be a lot of catching up to do, Kendall said. They were all selected by their cities and Im confident all will work toward our goal of getting the public to think transit first.
The Community Transit Board is made up of two County Council members; two representatives of large cities with more than 30,000 in population; three representatives of medium cities with populations of 10,000 to 30,000; and two representatives from small cities with populations less than 10,000.
Dawson and Kendall will represent the large cities; Angrick, Larson and Marine will represent the medium cities; and Gipson and Hill will represent the small cities.
Board alternates also were selected to take the place of a member in case he or she is unable to attend a meeting. Alternates are: for large cities, Lynnwood City Councilmembers Ted Hikel and Lisa Utter; for medium cities, Lake Stevens City Councilmember Heather Coleman and Mill Creek City Councilmember Mike Todd; and for small cities, Snohomish City Councilmember Doug Thorndike. The county alternate is Snohomish County Councilmember Mike Cooper.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 22
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.