Stillaguamish Valley School Class of 2010 graduates

ARLINGTON — Ten years into the 21st century, the Class of 2010 will seemingly face more challenges than previous graduating seniors.

"As I look at these seniors, I see that they have the experience, the smarts and the adaptability to meet these challenges," said Andy Jones, Stillaguamish Valley School teacher, during the school's graduation ceremony.

Nineteen Stillaguamish Valley students said goodbye to high school and hello to their next steps in life on during the school's commencement exercise on Friday, June 18.

Jones, who was voted to speak during the ceremony at the Byrnes Performing Arts Center, said that this year's graduating class will be inheriting an economy that was structured on consumption.

They will be taking over a country still reeling from the Gulf Coast oil spill.

How students address these challenges and learn from them will play a big role in how much success they have, Jones said.

"Surely we will need all the strength we can muster to strive," he said.

While Jones' speech was somber and insightful, senior Spencer Higdon's was light-hearted.

Higdon thanked his parents — his mother for giving him a "kick in the pants" and his father for showing him how to go the extra mile.

"Who doesn't like to hear 'Do that again' when you just did it?" he said.

During the ceremony, Arlington Kiwanis Club member Sue Weiss awarded a $2,000 Dollars for Scholars scholarship to senior Gretchen Stroh.

Principal Ed Aylesworth then honored Stroh with the school's salutatorian honor and senior Azlyn Hendrickson Stillaguamish Valley School's valedictorian honor.

Superintendent Kris McDuffy then congratulated and certified that the group of students had met the necessary state and district standards to graduate.

"We are so proud of you, your work and your individualism," McDuffy said."

Stillaguamish Valley School teacher Will Nelson shared individual comments from each graduate's parents as they were handed their diplomas by members of the Arlington School Board.

After the Class of 2010 turned their tassels, they presented roses to members of the audience that had a big impact on their graduation.

A visual presentation then wrapped up the evening's celebration, followed by closing remarks from Aylesworth.

Stillaguamish Valley School's graduating class is Kevin Andal, Christopher Baker, Ronald Barton, Sean Barton, Sarah Boe, Jennifer Collins, Nathan Curtis, Amanda Gegner, Dacia Gilmore, Ashley Heise, Kata Helm, Azlyn Hendrickson, Dana Hibbard, Spencer Higdon, Garth Lindquist, Jacquelyn Schleitweiler, Gretchen Stroh, Mitchel Wilson and Tyler Web.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 22
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.