Marysville leaders Nehring, Muller, Albright, Maksimos all challenged by late filings

  • Monday, May 20, 2019 12:57pm
  • News

After filing week, both Arlington and Marysville mayors will face challengers, but not until the November general election.

Mike Patrick of Marysville will take on Jon Nehring, while Barb Tolbert will face Don Vanney Jr.

A primary election in August will be needed to cut other races down to the two top voter-getters for November.

Longtime Marysville school board member Tom Albright is one. He is being challenged by both Ryan Muri and Halleh Stickels.

Another incumbent, Mariana Maksimos, is being challenged by Kona Farry and Paul Galovin.

Five people, including longtime councilman Jeff Siebert, are running for the City Council spot being vacated by Rob Toyer, who will take on Brian Sullivan for Snohomish County treasurer.

Others going for that council spot are Kelly J. Richards, Leguang “Noah” Rui, Todd Fahlman and Gary Kemp. Other primaries will take place at the county level with eight people filing for county council position 2 and three for council position 3.

Moving on to November are two candidates for county auditor, sheriff and two superior court judge spots.

For Marysville City Council, incumbent Stephen Muller picked up a late challenge from Katherine E. Iverson.

Others moving on to the general are:

•In Lakewood, Steven Larson has filed to run against Jeremy Toponce for school board.

•For Arlington City Council, incumbent Sue Weiss has a challenger in Michele Blythe.

•Sheri T. Kelly for Arlington Public Schools against Jim Weiss.

•Jeff Sinker will take on Greg Oakes of Arlington for the North County Regional Fire Authority.

Candidates without challengers include: incumbent Pete Lundberg for Marysville school board; Ric Cade of Arlington for North County Regional Fire District; Michael Ray for Arlington Public Schools; Jennifer Mullin of Arlington for Hospital District 3; Ryan Hudson of Tulalip for Fire District 15; Lakewood school candidates Leaha Boser and Lawrence Bean; Arlington City Council incumbents Marilyn Oertle and Mike Hopson; Kamille Norton for Marysville City Council; Arlington Public Schools has Mary Levesque for District 4; Fire District 21 shows Eric Nordstrom of Arlington filing; John V. Meno of Arlington filed for Position 1 for Hospital District 3; Steve Ramey of Arlington filed for Fire District 25; and John Engels of Silvana for Fire District 19.

More in News

WWU students to have a go at downtown corridor plan

ARLINGTON – The city is enlisting college students to create a downtown… Continue reading

Smokey Point Walmart chosen for pollinator garden pilot project

ARLINGTON – The Smokey Point Walmart store was chosen by the company… Continue reading

Marysville man wanted for alleged assault with gun on ex-girlfriend

MARYSVILLE – Police are seeking the public’s help in finding a 24-year-old… Continue reading

Lost and found: Family bible back in loved ones’ hands after half century

ARLINGTON – A treasured family Bible given as a wedding gift that… Continue reading

Arlington vows to ‘never forget’ 9/11; impart history with generation not yet born (slideshow)

ARLINGTON – Residents gathered at the 9/11 Memorial at Firehouse 46 to… Continue reading

Mom wonders why MPD shot son

MARYSVILLE – Almost a year after her son was shot to death… Continue reading

Visitors enjoy the view of Marysville from the kitchen area. (Steve Powell/Staff Photos)
Oxford Houses turn addicts’ lives around

MARYSVILLE - When Kirstin Preheim’s dad died of a heroin overdose five… Continue reading

Spending on hold in Marysville until enrollment figures known

MARYSVILLE – The Marysville School District is putting a hold on major… Continue reading

Volunteer fire districts get almost $600K

Driver killed; ribbon cutting; deaths

Most Read